Dexter Red

My plan last night consisted of watching too many episodes of a television show I am now absolutely addicted to: Dexter. The character development is superb, and so was the wine I paired it with. To complement the show, I chose a red from Washington: Maryhill Winery’s 2007 Winemaker’s Red, a blend of cabernet sauvignon, merlot, syrah, and cabernet franc. This baby was dry and dense, tannic on the tongue and heavy on the alcohol to the nose, but it opened up nicely after about an hour. A blend like this needs time and it tasted young, if that is even the correct term. However, I gave it a chance after the initial WOE and it paid off as it gradually began to share hints of spice, dark chocolate, cherries, and blueberries. Not so great? The Eola Hills Pinot Noir from Oregon. I had been dying to try a pinot noir that was less than $20 and at half that price, it fit my budget perfectly. But one glass of watery, tasteless, and boring Oregon pinot later, my tastebuds voted and Maryhill reigned triumphant last night, possessing some character even at its ripe young age.

The first time I tasted Maryhill was at The Restaurant at the Historic Reserve, a converted historic house by the Columbia River in Vancouver, Washington that features wine tastings hosted by local winery reps. It was a gorgeous sunny day, my mom was visiting from Arizona, and we took advantage of the weather by eating an early dinner in the restaurant’s garden. The Maryhill Winery expert poured us tastes of the rosé, some of the reds, and a pinot gris, I believe. Very knowledgeable and exuded a passion for the place he worked. It was a wonderful experience and I recommend this wine as a great accompaniment to dinner…or while you watch your favorite “good” serial killer.

Our Maryhill wine tasting experience in Washington.

The lovely Restaurant at the Historic Reserve in Vancouver.

This entry was posted in Red Blend, Tasting, Washington and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dexter Red

  1. Ben Simons says:

    Oh man, I am right with you on the Dexter addiction. That show is incredible.

    Got me to thinking about what I would pair with the show. The first thing that came to mind was the Cotes du Rhone that my wife swore tasted like blood. 🙂 I think it had a touch of an iron flavor, which is what she was picking up on. I didn’t think it tasted like blood, but I still think it would pair well with a night of Dexter. It was the Delas Cotes du Rhone.

    • mjwrites says:

      That a very interesting way to describe a wine, but some reds definitely have that iron characteristic. As far as Dexter goes, I barely started watching it for the first time a couple weeks ago and I’m already almost done with the second season (thank god for streaming Netflix!). It is absolutely riveting!

Leave a Reply

