My Pick for the Twitter #CheapWineChallenge: Boekenhoutskloof The Wolftrap 2008

My pick for Wine Ophelia’s Twitter #CheapWineChallenge is Boekenhoutskloof The Wolftrap 2008, a red blend of Syrah, Mourvedre, and Viognier from South Africa. This is a barbecue-some-ribs and turn on a football game kind of wine, perfect for the playoffs with its smoky and spicy characteristics. The first time I tried a South African red wine, I knew immediately it was a different kind of beast, and The Wolftrap is no different. This wine is not your easy to drink Oregon Pino or jammy, juicy Napa Cab. Warm up to it, be slow to judge, and pair it with the manliest meal you can cook up. A surprisingly multi-faceted wine with an under-$10 pricetag gets a thumbs up from me, and I can’t wait for my fellow wine bloggers to weigh in on it as well!

Check out everyones entries by clicking on #CheapWineChallenge in my tweet!

This entry was posted in Contest, Tasting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Pick for the Twitter #CheapWineChallenge: Boekenhoutskloof The Wolftrap 2008

  1. Tammy Smith (aka "Mom") says:

    This will be my next fancy, thanks for the recommendation and all your hard work getting there:) I know it was rough, but definitely worth it…

  2. mjwrites says:

    Haha thanks! I don’t think wine will be to your liking; it’s a bit of a “I need to eat a big rack of ribs” kind of wine. I’m going to post about a Cab I tried last night, though, that is more up your alley!

Leave a Reply

