I’ll Take a Glass of Cab with My Comedy Please! My picks for TV and wine pairings revealed.

I love snuggling with a blanket on the couch after a long day of classes, meetings, and work, flipping on the TV, and enjoying a glass of wine. I got to thinking today about what grapes I would pair with four of my favorite shows and here are the results of my musings!

GLEE LOVES WINE TOO!

The Office: Champagne
Honest-to-goodness, rolling-on-the-floor funny paired with seriously delicious…just like John Krasinkski
.

Californication: Cabernet Sauvignon or Chardonnay

Quintiessential California varietals perfect for a show that deals with the stereotypes of Hollywood.


Trauma: Pinot Noir

A drama-thriller about paramedics in San Franscisco pairs well with this stubborn varietal that thrives in the cooler climates of Northern California and Oregon. Easy to drink, great for when you’re sitting on the edge of your seat as all hell breaks lose.

Glee: Sokol Blosser Evolution Lucky Edition White Wine Blend
Just like Glee, this blend of 9 grapes, including Muller-Thurgau, White Riesling, Semillon, Pinot Gris, Gewurztraminer, Muscat Canelli, Chardonnay, Pinot Blanc, and Sylvaner, is diverse, provocative, and thoroughly enjoyable.

Your turn! What are your picks for the best TV and wine pairings?

This entry was posted in This and that! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I’ll Take a Glass of Cab with My Comedy Please! My picks for TV and wine pairings revealed.

  1. hmmm… pinot with drama is a pretty cool idea. i also enjoy it with action pictures – in fact this whole media pairing is an awesome idea.

    At Styring, we like to say that the best accompaniment to any good wine is good company, so find a friend, pop and cork and enjoy!

    Our film may interest you as well. see it at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hCV5ExULNz4

  2. Jesse Porter says:

    Monastrell from Jumilla paired with “Modern Family”… a unique, character-driven wine from an emerging region goes perfectly with a fresh new take on the American family dynamic.

    Austrian Gruner Veltliner with “Big Bang Theory,” because both are light and refreshing, but also take themselves seriously and make you think while you consume them.

    And with Conan O’Brien’s now-defunct “Tonight Show,” I’m drinking any of the delicious reds I can find from the now-defunct Havens Winery. Enjoy them both before they’re gone!

    So let me ask you, Megan — when you snuggle on the couch and enjoy your glass of wine, are you opening a fresh bottle every time? Do you finish the bottle? If not, what method do you use to keep the remainder fresh? Just wondering.

    • mjwrites says:

      I have been going a little crazy with the wine buying and wine trying lately, so it has been a fresh bottle the past few times, yes. If I do not have my roommate or friends around to share the bottle, though, I generally just cork it. Do you suggest a better method for keeping the wine fresh? Love your pairing for O’Brien…cracked me up!

      • Jesse Porter says:

        I use one of those little vaccu-pumps with the rubber corks that (allegedly) creates a vacuum in the bottle so that oxygen isn’t still contacting the wine. It’s basically the cheapest of the many “remove the oxygen” methods (the Argon wine savers can cost a lot to keep replacing), and it lets me sleep better at night than just re-corking.

        Also, I store all leftover wine in the fridge, both white and red — a trick I picked up from Cleese in “Wine for the Confused!”

  3. Aris says:

    Sokol Blosser Evolution wine and the SuperBowl…oh yeah.

  4. Tarra Keesee says:

    Megan, a must try with that perfect dessert you love is my all time fav, Asti Spumanti (sweet sparkling wine) ahhh, how it cleanses the palate and affords its lasiviciousness upon my taste buds. But the quintessential moment is when it amalgamates with that perfect dessert, how the sensations amass and provoke a provactive need and foodgasmic wanton of “more”….enjoy!

    • mjwrites says:

      Hey Tarra! Thank you for the recommendation. I have heard many wonderful things about that wine, but have never had the pleasure of tasting it myself. P.S. I need to use foodgasmic more often. It’s wordgasmic.

  5. Tammy Smith (aka "Mom") says:

    So as I watch a woman almost fall off her chair when she learns the doll that she picked up at a yard sale for $10 is actually worth $30,000…where else can you get a rush like that over a nice bold cabernet…

  6. jessica says:

    some 7 deadly zins would go great with “arrested development” reruns, as they depict nearly every deadly sin in nearly every episode. and the wordplay in the show is great, just like that of the wine title.

Leave a Reply

